The Big Cross-Bay Move

August 26, 2008 at 8:39 am 2 comments

I have recently moved to San Francisco.  I had lived in the East Bay for eight and a half years.  I’m not one of those rabid “Bay divide” folks.  I like certain features on both sides of the bridge.  However, I have been under the impression for a long time that the East Bay tends to be more bike-friendly and that the majority of the car/bike accidents I hear about happen in SF. 

 

That said I welcome advice on best and worst places to ride in the city.  I am living near 3rd Street.  I have found that 3rd is too busy and narrow to accommodate bikes well.  However, Illinois St. runs alongside it for many blocks and is far less congested.  I have not yet figured out whether bikes are allowed on the Third Street Rail (T-Line).  I know that regular Muni buses have a bike rack on the front.  However, I don’t think that’s the case with the rail lines.  The rail seems like it might be big enough to accommodate bikes at non-busy times.  However, I’m really hesitant to just try it out, because Muni drivers can be incredibly surly—probably for some good reasons—and I’m not usually in any mood to be yelled at in front of a large group.

 

 

Also, even though my wife and I found a nice place to live and our street seems pretty quiet, the overall Bayview/Hunter’s Point neighborhood has quite a bad reputation.  I haven’t had any problems yet, but I welcome tips about safe commuting in and around the neighborhood—aside from avoiding the most obvious: rough housing projects and intersections in which drug deals appear to take place or a lot of loitering happens. 

 

Outside of my immediate neighborhood, I am eager to find good places to ride in the city just for fun.  Any street that has a bike lane and isn’t too terribly steep is a welcome route to explore as far as I’m concerned!

Entry filed under: Bay Area. Tags: , , , .

Olympic Fever San Francisco meet Sunday Streets

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kristinaurorasmith  |  August 28, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Welcome to the other side. I lived in your neck of the woods when I first moved here and it’s definitely a tough area for biking. Third Street is okay. My recommendation is to pay attention to the bike route signs and follow them. I had a lot of fun my first month just following the route numbers around and exploring the city. Also, if you haven’t ridden through the Presidio and across GG Bridge, I highly recommend it. You can go down 3rd to the Marina and past Crissy Field to the bridge and then wind your way home.

    Reply
  • 2. bananaseatjones  |  August 29, 2008 at 7:18 am

    Thank you! I love days when I can go exploring and follow the bike route signs. Sometimes, I just have to go with what will get me to where I’m headed on time. I’ve heard 3rd St. used to have a bike lane. As it is now, between the lack of a lane and the heavy traffic, I sometimes feel compelled to ride on the sidewalks.

    I would love to go for a ride through Crissy Field and across the bridge one of these days!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

More Photos

analytics

_uacct = "UA-4811419-1"; urchinTracker();

Recent Posts


