The Cyclist About Town

August 20, 2008 at 7:57 pm 2 comments

First off, I want to thank David for posting info about The Village Bicycle’s Oakland A’s Rally, August 30 on his blog Brooklyn Avenue. Please contact me (kathymcguirehascome at gmail dot com) if you have and bike locks to donate or would like to volunteer. We’re expecting a fair amount of people and need help making sure eveyone’s safe and happy.

Next, the Embarcadero BART was truly awful this morning. I mean, it’s weird, people will stare at me trying to walk down the stairs with a bike on my shoulder and a dripping coffee in my hand (Peets gave me a cup when I asked for the coffee to be poured in my water bottle – grrr), and not move out of my way. It’s like they see me, they make eye contact, they admire my bike, and then walk up the center of the stairway. I can’t take up any less room, buddy, you need to move.

Speaking of commuting. Men’s Health put together a consumerist-fed article about biking your work commute instead of driving (and all the gear you need to buy to make it happen). While I don’t like to look at cycling in terms of how much gas money I’m saving as it just reiterates our dependency on oil, I do like that they measured how many pounds of C02 emissions we’re saving by commuting (check out liveablestreets.com – join the movement!)

Your Commute: 15 miles, average speed 14 to 18 MPH
Calories burned in one day: 1,476
Gas Money Saved in one month: $122.40
CO2 Savings in 1 year: 7,722 pounds

Your Commute: 10 miles, average speed 12 to 14 MPH
Calories burned in one day: 884
Gas Money Saved in one month: $81.60
CO2 Savings in 1 year: 5,148 pounds

Your Commute: 5 miles, average speed 10 to 12 MPH
Calories burned in one day: 410
Gas Money Saved in one month: $40.80
CO2 Savings in 1 year: 2,574 pounds

Pretty interesting. I’d love to hear your commuting stories, btw. Where do you go, what do you love the most about it, and why the 24th and Mission BART elevator smelled so god awful this evening.

And here’s a question for you all, well, at least for you Jackson: Are the Olympic BMX races really “uncool” because the bikes have clips? Sports Business Daily seems to think so.

Entry filed under: Bay Area. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Dead Ray “Steve” on SF Market Street Could Bike Lanes Cause Pollution?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kristinaurorasmith  |  August 21, 2008 at 8:24 am

    Nice calculations. It’s astonishing how getting on your bike even for a few short miles makes a huge financial and environmental difference.

    Reply
  • 2. darakon  |  August 23, 2008 at 6:18 am

    a bicycle is one again the choice of the city

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


analytics

_uacct = "UA-4811419-1"; urchinTracker();

Recent Posts


