streetlights

July 30, 2008 at 8:36 pm 2 comments

I am all for safety gear. I really am. In theory. But like those republicans that lead double lives I don’t always practice what I preach and I may be guilty of some serious hypocrisy. I do wear my helmet religiously, but I must admit that I recently rode around at night without any lights on my bike or person. Which I do not advocate or condone. I was riding to a friend’s house for a bbq, and it was so nice out. Warm nights are rare in Santa Cruz so whenever the planets are aligned to produce a warm nightime breeze I make a point of getting outside for a bit, and my lack of lights wasn’t gonna stop me. Since I was probably invisible to cars, I stuck to empty back streets, and sidewalks and pedaled slowly along. There is something so perfect about slicing down the middle of a completely empty street on a warm night. I took the long way to my friend’s house and reluctantly arrived at the party. I could have ridden all night on those car-less back streets, slipping in and out of the orange circles the streetlights cast on the ground.

….oh, and I thought I would share this with someone. FBM bicycles has been swilling beer, lighting fires, and building some of the best BMX frames for years, but recently they have entered the fixed gear market with the SWORD. Steve Crandall, the owner and head hooligan of FBM posts on a great slice of life blog that I stole this picture from. The picture screams fun and sums up why riding a bike is so awesome and walking is…well, too slow.

While I am at it, Tonic Fabrication is another builder of beautiful frames and runs an interesting blog to boot. The picture you are taken to when you click “BMX” a few inches above this was found on their site. It is BMX legend VIc Murphy gettin’ rad.

Thats about it. Please wear your helmet and ride with lights.

Entry filed under: Bay Area. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Bicyclist Takes a Stand at Wal-Mart Hanebrink did it first!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bicycle » Blog Archive » streetlights  |  July 30, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    […] choidu . Excerpt: FBM bicycles has been swilling beer, lighting fires, and building some of the best BMX frames for years, but recently they have entered the fixed gear market with the SWORD. Steve Crandall, the owner and head hooligan of FBM posts on a … […]

    Reply
  • 2. bananaseatjones  |  August 6, 2008 at 7:10 am

    I don’t advocate riding without lights or a helmet either, though not having them didn’t stop me from doing so a couple times. If the itch to get on my bike is great enough, I’ll justify any dangerous method to ride. And yes, riding around on deserted back streets late at night can be pure bliss!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


analytics

_uacct = "UA-4811419-1"; urchinTracker();

Recent Posts


