I can’t ride my bike

July 11, 2008 at 5:26 pm 3 comments

It’s true, it’s tragic, and I don’t know what to do about it but wait. I got sick and one or some of my intestines are injured, and the only place I’ve ridden to in the past week was the doctor, maybe 10 blocks away, and it hurt. Not only can I not ride my bike, but I also can’t ride my friend’s bike which is visiting at my house while she’s away.
I walked, today, although now that I think of it I followed bike routes along Valencia, 18th, and over Market to Duboce Park. Usually when I walk places I go the wrong way on one-way streets just because I can… but I was too distracted even for that. I miss the giddy back-and-forth of the wiggle, I miss zipping past all the cars waiting – I mean, driving – on Market Street, and I even miss climbing that last hill on the way home.
This is a plea for advice, really: What do you do when you can’t bike? How can I replace any of the bicycle-things that make me happy, much less all of them? Are there any documented ways to induce dreaming of biking? Seriously. If you’ve got an idea, I would love to hear it.

My bike in its closet, where it's spending too much time these days.

My bike in its closet, where it's spending too much time these days.

Entry filed under: Bay Area. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Greenloop Summer Sale A Nice Stretch Along the Bay Trail

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kristinaurorasmith  |  July 13, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Can you ride a reclining bike?

    Reply
  • 2. villagebicycle  |  July 13, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    Does anyone actually have a reclining bike (I think they’re cool – but not many people have them), and aren’t they super expensive? It’s not like it’d be a quick and easy substitute.

    Reply
  • 3. kristinaurorasmith  |  July 14, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Well, I’m not totally sure what your injury entails, but if the pain is because you have to lean over and it puts pressure on your intestines, you might be able to get some big ass cruiser bars or mustache handlebars that eliminate the bending over.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


analytics

_uacct = "UA-4811419-1"; urchinTracker();

Recent Posts


