Wearing Green and Not Going Broke

June 6, 2008 at 6:03 am 1 comment

From IdealBite.com:

If 10,000 Biters make their next jeans purchase organic, we’ll keep the weight of eight male walruses in pesticide-treated cotton out of production. But we’ll all be broke.

I’m sick of shopping at Mission thrift stores, but even more so, I’m sick of constantly being reminded that I am single-handedly destroying the environment if I don’t buy “Green”. That’s nice – buying green. On top of buying clothes that are good looking, cheap, don’t enslave children, and are made from organic cotton (and harsh, horrible dyes that kill baby whatever your favorite animal is). If you have any, and most often a lot of money to spend on organic cottons, they’re usually in “loose fitting – mom of 2 – on your way to yoga” styles. Which is cool, but uh, I’m not going to spend an extra $20 to look like I just had twins.

Behold, black leopard-print organic cotton jeans for $40 at Target.

Yes, I said Target. That means if you’re in the Mission, you need to hop on the BART and ride to El Cerrito Del Norte (near Richmond in the East Bay) or San Bruno (down the peninsula).

Much to my surprise and delight, Rogan Gregory is now designing for Target. Does it cheapen him? I’m not sure, but I love it.

Rogan Gregory is the guy behind Loomstate and Edun, which promote sustainability, social equity in Africa –and high fashion,of course. Rogan also has a line of industrial-style furniture and objects, Rogan Objects.

And although he’s worked with Bono, and you would expect the typical press release statements on being eco-active, of his work, Rogan says, “I am definitely aesthetic-oriented. If I don’t like the way something looks but it’s super-eco, I don’t give a shit. It’s got to look nice,” he says. “I’m just not so extreme and I don’t expect people to be so extreme. I expect people to buy things for the way they look. I don’t count on people to do it out of the goodness of their hearts, I don’t think you can”.

Thank you Target and thank you Gregory.

Entry filed under: Bay Area. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Free Events at Sports Basement in San Francisco SF Metropolitan Transportation Commission and the “Stop and Roll”

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. katelivesinbrooklyn  |  July 3, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Right on!

    Check out http://seedandsew.com for more tasty bites of sustainable fashion.

    Help us get the word out! And keep up the great sustainability work,

    Kate (cyclist too)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


analytics

_uacct = "UA-4811419-1"; urchinTracker();

Recent Posts


